Results from 8th Annual JE Pistons NMCA Muscle Car Nationals at Summit Motorsports Park

          NMCA Kooks Pro Mod driver Josh Green

Incredible. That’s the only word to use when describing this past weekend’s 8th Annual JE Pistons NMCA Muscle Car Nationals featuring the Chevrolet Performance LSX Challenge Series.

The fifth race of the Flowmaster Drag Racing Series featuring NHRA Unleashed presented by Aerospace Components produced record runs and personal bests at Summit Motorsports Park on a track surface, which despite high levels of humidity and warm temperatures, continued to deliver consistent traction allowing drivers and crew chiefs to remove the “guess factor” on a proper setup.

In Kooks Pro Mod, Steve Summers led the field in qualifying with an incredible 5.88/256 MPH run. His performance took him to the final, where he met Josh Green, who had been running consistent numbers all weekend long, also in the five-second range. In the final, it was  Team Green after Summers left the starting line with a -.001 red light. Green went on to take the stripe with a 5.97 run.

Mickey Thompson Radial Wars featured 17 cars in competition with DeWayne Mills leading the pack after unloading a 4.22/192 MPH eighth-mile qualifying run. In eliminations, Mills and his Camaro faced Jason Rueckert and his familiar Olds G-body, and Mills won 4.26 to 4.34.

Andy Manson lowered the boom in Stainless Works Street Outlaw after setting a new ET record of 6.94. Manson ran the table in eliminations, beating Dwayne Barbaree in the final after Barbaree went red.

In Edelbrock Xtreme Street, David Hutnick and his Camaro dominated the class with a 7.74/177 MPH qualifying hit, followed by consistent runs through eliminations. In the final, he lined up against  Dan Baumann, who posted a nice 7.95 in his Mustang, but that wasn’t enough to overcome the 7.83 from Hutnick.

Don Baskin and his Cutlass carved their way through the ARP Nitrous Pro Street field to face Kevin Parent in the final. At the finish line, Baskin took the win with a 7.38 to the 7.42 Parent ran in his Nova.

In N.A 10.5 action, Leonard Long and his Mustang led a large crowd of all-motor cars in qualifying (7.97) and then found the winner’s circle on Sunday after beating Mike DeMayo, Jr. in the 8.07 to 8.14 final.

In the index classes, Dallas Schultz followed his father Dave’s Joliet win with one of his own in ATI Nostalgia Super Stock after beating Ricky Newmeyer in the final.

In Detroit Locker Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle Car, Dan Fotti ousted Bryan Parker in the final round while in Magnafuel Open Comp, Mike VanHoose defeated Chuck Hockenberry for the win.

Gear Vendors True Street was won by Chris Bishir, who pushed his Chevy truck to a 9.13 average.

In the Chevrolet Performance LSX Challenge Series the Ohio Boys – Mike Brown and Mark Koehler – dominated the JE Pistons Drag Radial class, as they qualified on top of the field and then faced each other in the final round where Brown’s 4.47 topped Koehler’s 4.97 in the eighth-mile race.

In ERL All Motor, Judson Massingill and his Camaro, who qualified on top with an 8.16, defeated Robert Strong’s Monte Carlo in the final after Strong left the starting line too soon.

Racers in Holley EFI Real Street were knocking on the seven-second door all weekend, and that barrier was finally crossed in the final round, as Kevin Rounsavall and his Camaro dropped a 7.99/172 MPH hit in the final to defeat Adam Preston.

In the LSX index classes, David Rickey topped Travis Martin and Jenna Pierce-Wilson defeated Andrew Cowherd in the final of LME 5th Generation Camaro.

This race also included the Ford Racing Cobra Jet Shootout – a gathering of the nation’s Cobra Jet owners, using this special event as a tune-up for the U.S. Nationals held in Indianapolis, Labor Day weekend. Winners included Paul Candies, who defeated Phillip Myers in Super Stock, Brett Candies, who bested Anthony Bonjiovanni in CIC and John Calvert, who defeated Chris Holbrook in Top Stock. In a special runoff between Calvert and Candies to determine the “King of the Cobra Jets,” Calvert prevailed.

In Summit Motorsports Park bracket action, Michael Toombs won in the Electronics class, while John Gregory won the Non-Electronics class.

Additional race coverage, results and a photo gallery from the weekend can be found at, with more in an upcoming issue of Fastest Street Car magazine.

- From NMCA Staff

          Edelbrock Xtreme Street driver David Hutnick

Copyright © 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park | All Rights Reserved.
Website Design by Mango Bay Internet